Racoon Kickboxing

It's 5:30AM here and I was about to chuck it in for the night when I heard a noise outside.  It was a racoon beating up a cat.  The racoon looked pretty young, probably one of the six racoons that was born up in our attic a few years ago.  Too bad I didn't see them when they were babies.  When I first saw them they were already lanky and ugly.  I like the way adult racoons look though.  But then that's how I got bitten by the mother racoon.  Nasty gal.  After all those peanut butter cookies I gave her.  I would give her two and she would take one in her mouth, take the other one in her hands, and casually walk away standing up.  Hillarious.

I did that only because she broke her nails trying to get back into the attic when we blocked the entrance (we didn't know about the babies until they started crying) and I felt sorry.  One day I was cursing about the racoon making noise in the attic and the next day at 4AM I was on the roof (it was raining too) with a crowbar and hammer to make holes so the mother racoon could get back in.  Oy.  I had this horror image of dead baby racoons in the attic.  Anyway, I am not feeding her any more so don't bother leaving tsk tsk comments.

Eclipse 3.0 is NOT released yet

I don't know where the mix up got started but numberous websites are announcing the release of Eclipse 3.0 already.  Note that the latest version is Eclipse 3.0 RC3.  The final version will be released on June 28 or so.

BTW, I noticed that Eclipse site now has links to BitTorrent seeds for Eclipse releases.  That should come in handy at the end of this month.

Update:

Just one day after I said Eclipse 3.0 final is not released yet, they released it ahead of schedule!  I am not sure whether this is good news or bad news since RC3 was still buggy and reporting problems here and there without much explanation.  Did they fix all the bugs in one week?  Unlikely.  And the next bug fix release (3.0.1) is not scheduled until September.

My guess is that schedule of some commercial products that depended on Eclipse 3.0 might have pinched Eclipse team's schedule.  Too bad.  I would have been happy with addition month of test.

BTW, forget about downloading it until later.  My own download session is estimated to take 16 hours to completion and BitTorrent seed site doesn't have 3.0 final available.

Update 2:

I have used Eclipse 3.0 final version for 8 hours straight now and it looks pretty solid.  Search complaining in out of sync projects is annoying but I haven't figured out how to turn it off yet.

WARNING #1: Regardless of which version of Eclipse you used before, start with a clean workspace.  Old workspace configuration will confuse some plugins.  Sysdeo Tomcat Plugin was acting erratic until I did that.  For example, Tomcat would not work properly on restart without restarting Eclipse as well.  Even then the pages would sometimes appear blank.  I wasted 3 hours trying different Eclipse/Tomcat/Sysdeo settings to get it working and ended up cursing softly (everyone was asleep) and lucked out with a desperate guess.

WARNING #2: JSP files will not be added as ASCII into CVS repositories unless you specifically add it to the list of known file types.  Look under Team > CVS section of the preference dialog.

Have fun.

Tomcat Crap

Urgh.  I just spent a few hours trying to figure out why JNDI JavaMail session stopped working.  Previously, I had Tomcat 5.0.26 beta installed and it was working just fine.  In an attempt to debug another problem, I peddled back to 5.0.25, which is the latest version without any beta tag, and found that I couldn't send e-mail out from an webapp.  Error message was rather bland so it took me a while to find the relevant bug report.  Guess what?  5.0.25 build left out some key classes related to JNDI JavaMail session support.  Heck, I think I'll go back to the beta version and keep my fingers crossed.

Murder She Wrote

Halley writes:

Blog Murder

Is there a reason Dave Winer just killed 3000 blogs — like this one (Tom Matrullo's) and this one (Dean Landsman's) and this one (Craig's Booknotes)– and no one, including Slashdot has the balls to write about it?!

At least he's taken the gloves off — if you thought he was a cuddly teddy bear friend of all bloggers — you might want to rethink that.

then she added later:

And if you want to take the time to read what I wrote — I never called anyone a "murderer" as some have claimed — and my question was why no one else had written about it.

Halley obviously has some harsh feelings against Dave, feelings that distorts her view on anything Dave does.  I think it is all right for a person to not like another person.  But I think she should have just said so instead of practically calling Dave a murderer on flimsy evidences and then, instead of apologizing, resort to playing word games.

To Both Sides of Weblogs.com Conflict

I have a problem understanding people who routinely go beyond the needs of momentary emotional ranting to shred another person's reputation in public.  Over and over, they portray the focus of their anger as the ultimate evil.  What are they trying to accomplish?  If they are successful, then the person will be ruined professionally and shunned socially.  Is that really what they want?

If I could give them an advice, it is this:

If you are chasing, you better be ready to catch.

First Manned Private Spaceflight

Hurrah!  Privately funded by Paul Allen, designed by Burt Rutan, and piloted by Mike Melvill, a 62 year-old test pilot who is now an astronaut, SpaceShipOne successfully reached space and returned safely this morning, the very first manned private spaceflight in history.  Awesome.  With all the doom and gloom these days, it's nice to have something to smile about.

 

An Appeal by 365 Korean Organizations to the Iraqi Group Holding a Korean National

Following open letter is from an OhmyNews article that encouraged wide distribution.  I don't agree with the content but I think the letter reflects the view of a small yet growing and increasingly vocal part of Korean population so here it is:

An Appeal by 365 Korean Organizations to the Iraqi Group Holding a Korean National

We appeal for the release of the Korean national Kim Seon Il.

Today the Korean people were overcome with shock at the news the Korean Kim Seon Il has been kidnapped in Iraq. His seizure and the threat against the life of this private citizen is already a source of unspeakable sadness for his family and the Korean people. This sadness and shock is the same for the many Koreans who have opposed the United States' unjust invasion and the deployment of Korean troops to Iraq.

The Korean people are well aware of the fact that the US invaded Iraq for domination and oil, and not for the freedom and peace of the Iraqi people. We know also that the US occupation of Iraq has denied the Iraqi people their sovereignty and that there have been widespread human rights abuses by US forces there, leading to Iraqi pain and loss of life. For this reason we have done all that is humanly possible to prevent the deployment of Korean troops, as they will in no way contribute to the peace and security of the Iraqi people.

The kidnapping and threatening a private citizen with death, however, will not contribute to Iraqi peace. The Iraqi people are right to resist the US's unjust invasion, occupation, and carnage. Nevertheless, kidnapping and threatening a private citizen with death cannot be justified. Doing so will only lead to a vicious cycle of blood and revenge.

Again we make an earnest appeal. Please make your claims known through dialogue and release Kim Seon Il to his family as he is of no relation to government policy.

21 June 2004

Seoul, Korea

Korean Network Against Dispatching Troops To Iraq

My view is that if they are so concerned about saving human lives, I think they can save far more lives by banning the use of automobiles in Korea.

BEA’s Java StAX Reference Implementation Open Sourced

BEA's reference implementation of StAX (Streaming API for XML, aka JSR 173) was open sourced at Codehaus back on May 12 but the announcement apparently didn't reach me so I just found out about it by loitering at the StAX Yahoo Group.

StAX website at Codehaus is lacking essential information for the moment but you can get the source from the CVS:

cvs -d:pserver:anon@cvs.stax.codehaus.org:/scm/stax login
cvs -d:pserver:anon@cvs.stax.codehaus.org:/scm/stax checkout stax

FYI, stax/dev/src and stax/dev/src100 were identical last time I checked.  Don't forget to join the StAX Yahoo Group to communicate with rest of the StAX fan club.

Korea

Korea is a country where:

  • Everyone thinks they know best.
  • No one is willing to lose.
  • Final decisions are never final.
  • Opponents are respected by vilifying and dehumanizing.
  • Violence is considered a way of teaching.

I know this because I know best and I am not prepared to accept contrary opinions.  Anyone who thinks otherwise are communist pigs who deserves a good beating so they will know better.  See what I mean?

Being Stupid and Homophobic

Joi Ito calls Ray Bradbury's complaint about Michael Moore's movie Fahrenheit 9/11 stupid and compared it to a supposedly homophobic essay by Orson Scott Card.

Don't you hate it when your favorite writers do, write or say stupid things?

This reminds me of the horror of reading Orson Scott Card's homophobic essay, "Homosexual "Marriage" and Civilization".

The following is an edited version of my comment:

I think Bradbury's position is understandable and definitely not stupid. Don't you think the proper thing for Michael Moore to do was to ask? If Bradbury was pro-Bush, he wouldn't have wanted the title of his works being used for Michael Moore's movie. For him to just blatently use the title like that is just plain asinine.

As to your comment about Orson Scott Card being homophobic, I don't see what is wrong with being homophobic. If there is nothing stupid about being afraid of heights or spiders, why is being homophobic stupid?

Update:

Thanks to Russ's mini-rant which prompted me to look up the word in the dictionary, I just realized that my definition of homophobic and the dictionary's definition are different so you can throw out that part of this post.  If you want to continue the discussion then I am fine with that too.

Poker Tourney

Just got back from the tourney.  I got there late because I thought it was to start at 6PM when it actually started at 1PM.  They still let me play though.  I didn't get many good hands all day so I had to max out the ones I got by building the pot.  After five hours, I ended up at the table of final seven players (out of twentysome players) by winning only a handful of large pots.  After that I spent most of my time dodging deadly hands because the final table was a no limit table.  In the end, I placed third which won me the chance to play in the tourney of champions in December without buying in.  So, my prediction was right on the ball.